Linus Pauling Award in Functional Medicine

About the Linus Pauling Award

Aristo Vojdani is the 2023 Linus Pauling Award recipient.

The Linus Pauling Award in Functional Medicine was established in 1996 at the 3rd Annual International Symposium on Functional Medicine in Vancouver, BC. Jeffrey Bland, PhD, co-founder of The Institute for Functional Medicine (IFM), worked with Dr. Pauling early in his career and admired both the man and his contributions to science and medicine. Dr. Bland felt that an award named after this visionary scientist and thinker would be the greatest way to honor his life and achievements.

Since that time, the Linus Pauling Award has been presented at IFM’s Annual International Conference. The Linus Pauling Award is given to a clinician or researcher who has made a significant contribution to the development of Functional Medicine, either through research or activities within IFM that enlarge the Functional Medicine model or extend the influence of the Functional Medicine systems approach. This award has become a recognized achievement in the field of integrative and systems medicine and is juried through a formalized process of selection.

Linus Pauling Award Recipients

Award Recipient Year Accomplishments
Aristo Vojdani, PhD, MSc, CLS 2023 Contributing to the fields of immunology and microbiology that shed light on the complex mechanisms of autoimmune diseases, food sensitivities, and environmental toxins. Learn More
Laurie Hofmann, MPH 2021 IFM recognized Laurie for her instrumental role in the growth and maturation of IFM and the field of functional medicine. Learn More
Michael Stone, MD 2019 Dr. Michael Stone received this award for his work as a physician, researcher, innovator, and teacher. Learn More
Terry Wahls, MD 2018 Work as a physician, researcher, teacher, and patient advocate. Learn More
Patrick Hanaway, MD 2017 Innovation in medical education and pioneering work in clinical outcomes research. Learn More
Toby Cosgrove, MD 2016 Vision and leadership in opening Cleveland Clinic Center for Functional Medicine. Learn More
Robert Rountree, MD 2015 Pioneering work in the development of functional medicine and service as a highly inspirational and informational member of IFM’s faculty. Learn More
Randy Jirtle, PhD 2014 Groundbreaking work on the role that nutrients play in the epigenetic modulation of phenotype and the interactions between the epigenome, the genome, and the environment. Learn More
Alessio Fasano, MD 2013 Pioneering work delineating the underlying mechanisms involved in intestinal permeability and its connection to autoimmune disease. Learn More
Mimi Guarneri, MD 2012 Significant contributions to the transformation of health care systems that have furthered the evolution of functional medicine’s clinical and patient-centered intellectual and spiritual approaches for prevention and treatment of chronic, complex disease.
Bruce Ames, PhD 2011 Revolutionary work on the role of micronutrient deficiency, genetic polymorphisms and associations with chronic disease,
Dean Ornish, MD 2010 Pioneering clinical research demonstrating the impact of lifestyle interventions on chronic disease.
Mark Hyman, MD 2009 Dedication, leadership and advocacy in creating, practicing, and teaching functional medicine. Biography
Bethany Hays, MD 2008 Dedication and leadership in the field of functional medicine and women’s health issues. Biography
Michael Holick, PhD, MD 2007 Foundational research on the impact of vitamin D on human health.
Eleanor Rogan, PhD 2006 Pioneering work in estrogen metabolism and its role in the initiation of cancer.
Catherine Willner, MD 2005 Innovative clinical advances in functional medicine approaches to neurology.
Joseph E. Pizzorno, ND 2004 Dedication to advancing the functional medicine paradigm through research, advocacy, and writings. Biography
Walter Willett, MD, DrPH 2003 Landmark research on the role of diet in chronic disease.
Abram Hoffer, MD 2002 Clinical advances in personalized orthomolecular psychiatry.
David Perlmutter, MD 2002 Pioneering research and clinical work on the role of diet and nutrition in brain-related disorders. Biography
Gerald Reaven, MD 2001 Groundbreaking research on insulin resistance, hyperinsulinemia and risk of chronic disease.
Leo Galland, MD 2000 Advances in the functional medicine model of antecedents-triggers-mediators model and patient-centered care.
Kilmer McCully, MD 1999 Foundational research on homocysteine as a marker for inflammation and early development of heart disease.
Sidney Baker, MD 1998 Advances in clarifying and unifying the functional medicine paradigm. Biography
David S. Jones, MD 1997 Leadership and advocacy in the clinical practice of functional medicine. Biography
Glenn Doman 1996 Clinical advances in working with brain-injured children.

Linus Pauling Functional Medicine Lifetime Achievement Award

Recipient Year Accomplishments
Jeffrey Bland, PhD 2011 Exceptional creativity, dedication, leadership, and brilliance in developing and advancing the principles and practice of functional medicine. Biography